Information · Other

World Storytelling Day

Hi everyone!

Today is World Storytelling Day! Is this the first time you’ve heard of this holiday? It is for me but how cool is this? Being able to tell a story can be a lot of fun or even informative. Stories can be fictional or even pertain to real life. Do you have a story to tell? I bet you do! Come and share a story together with me to celebrate this holiday!

According to Wikipedia, today marks the day for oral storytelling. Of course, telling a story orally on a blog can be a bit tricky unless it’s done either in video or as an audio file like a podcast or something. Click here for more information about today’s holiday!

What is a story I’d like to share? There’s too many ideas! I could share my experience in life as someone who is chronically ill, my travel memories, make up a short story on the spot, talk about a dream I had, or anything really. I’ve had so many adventures so it’s hard to choose one to talk about. I’ve visited waterfalls here in the US, rock formation state parks, been to multiple festivals, conventions, concerts, and visited museums and aquariums too.

Okay so now it’s story time.

A great memory I have had was visiting the Cherry Blossom festival in Washington DC a few years ago. It was pretty warm out. A friend and I had just taken the subway from Greenbelt, MD to the DC area. The subway, local trains, and metro are the best and most affordable ways to travel to and from Washington, DC I swear. It’s low cost and the subway passes work on the light rail up in Baltimore too last I knew. I hope it still works as it was awesome just needing one pass for both. Anyways, on with the story.

Cherry Blossoms - Washington DC
Cherry Blossoms – Washington, DC

The sun was out shining though there was a chance of storms later in the afternoon. My friend and I had traveled in the main area where there were booths set up of not just sellers but also information about different groups and attractions. I even was able to take a picture of a woman associated with a Shinto shrine if I remember correctly. There were also stages set up with singers and groups performing a wide range of music as well as performances. I even saw Mr. Sudoku too! That was pretty amazing to see. On the same stage, there was a storytelling performance for children but there was definitely a crowd of mixed ages enjoying the story. Unfortunately, I cannot remember what it was about but I remember it made me smile just listening.

After we bought a quick lunch, we decided to head over to see the cherry blossoms around the lake and memorials. It was so beautiful. Of course there were some bees (it was spring ya’ll and bees are scary) but overall, it definitely was pretty enjoyable. I took a bunch of pictures too though I’m not sure about the timeline here of what was first then second, etc. (It could also be a mix as I went to the festival twice overall so who knows. On with the story!)

I saw the MLK memorial as well as the Lincoln Memorial too I believe. My friend and I had to make a run for shelter at one point as a storm suddenly rolled in and small pebbles of hail fell on us. However, we found covering until the storm had passed at one of the memorials thankfully. Once the storm passed, we went back out to enjoy the blossoms for a while before taking our time to head back home via the subway. Overall, despite the storm and such, it was a lot of fun and if you have a chance when in the area, definitely go see the cherry blossoms! It’s certainly worth it and so beautiful.

A group posing in their kimonos at the Cherry Blossom Festival in Washington, DC
A group posing in their kimonos at the Cherry Blossom Festival in Washington, DC

Leave a comment